Patient Testimonials (cont.)

Click here to visit our NEW website - www.holtorfmed.com
Hormone & Longevity Medical Center
Dr. Holtorf
faqnullapp.gif
Natural Estrogen and Progesterone Treatment of menopause
Treatment with Human Growth Hormone
Treatment of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and Fibromyalgia
faqnullapp.gif
Treatment of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and Fibromyalgia
doornullapp.gif
doornullapp.gif
Patient Testimonials
doornullapp.gif
formrfiapp.gif
Map & Directions
 
Se Habla Español  
 



Patient Testimonials (cont.)

Kim H.

Dr. Holtorf-

I want to thank you so much for your clinic, your knowledge and your staff. I have been seeing Dr. Shah and absolutely love her!!!

Prior to going to your clinic I was basically an experiment. I had seen several other doctors only to be told that "it was all in my head." I was so depressed and desperate to find someone who knew something! This was after spending over $10,000.00, still with no answers. However, I knew my body wasn't balanced.

I was on the Internet when I found your clinic. Initially I was hesitant, especially since I had already spent so much money with no results, but as they say...hind sight is 20/20 !!! Dr. Shah was the first doctor that finally listened to me and totally figured out what was wrong with me. It wasn't "all in my head" after all. I had so many levels that were off...in fact, she told me that my blood work came back like a 90-year-old lady...I am only 41...no wonder I wasn't feeling right!

Again, thank you so much for all of your knowledge and research that has gone into your clinic. Thank You for Dr. Shah!!! She is a miracle!!! Even though you are a 7 hour drive, or a short flight, your clinic is worth every bit of the effort to get to. Thank you for being so flexible with out-of-town patients as well. Dr. Shah and your clinic have truly been a blessing!

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!


Melissa P.

In the spring of last year, after failed experiences with five other doctors, I had the great good fortune of hearing about Dr. Holtorf. He is heaven sent in my mind, and I honestly have thanked God for him countless times in the past year. In fact, a few months ago -just before the holidays - it dawned on me that I hadn't felt truly healthy in over ten years. Funny, until I felt really good, I had forgotten how amazing it is to simply feel energetic yet peaceful at the same time. I had also lost track of how much time I spent not feeling well. Ten years! An entire decade of my life!

I was hopeful when I heard about Dr. Holtorf that I would get well. I was hopeful my auto-immune disease (Hashimoto's), which effected my entire endocrine system (especially my thyroid function), would become manageable. However, once I actually met Dr. Holtorf in person, something told me to expect the unexpected. A little voice inside me was celebrating from the get go.

My intuition was right. My progress over the past year is nothing short of phenomenal! I feel fabulous!!! My hypersensitivity to iodine-rich foods is almost non-existent now. I can do moderate exercise without days of debilitating fatigue afterwards. Additionally, I'm certain it won't be long until I can do extreme exercise again (I used to run marathons in my twenties). Best of all, I no longer have to fight-off cranky "drama-queen" moods. I feel perfectly happy and at peace almost all the time (remember, I'm married with three children ... so not even Dr. Holtorf can save me from the very normal yet thankfully only occasional "I think I'm going to pull my hair out" kind of day). Time truly does fly. This past few months, in fact, has flown quite happily. A year ago, in contrast, being the mother of three and, like all of us, being extremely busy with "this" and "that," time also flew ... though back then, it was truly difficult to get out of bed and actually look forward to my day.

In closing, before I met Dr. Holtorf, I felt tired yet anxious all of the time. It started ten years ago, though the past five years before being treated by Dr. Holtorf were the worst. Thanks to my beautiful family, incredible friends, and my spiritual nature, life was always full of love and laughter and hope despite my illness. Today, however, just taking a walk all by myself... no friends or family around ... no deep meditative-intention needed ... just simply me taking a walk ... I smile; I laugh; I feel full of love and full of enough strength and vitality to share what's in my heart with the entire world. Wow!!! I can't thank you enough Dr. Holtorf ... you are my hero!!!

With immense gratitude and with blessings abound,


Tiffany C.

Dear Dr. Holtorf,

When I had the first appointment with you I felt better. It took disappointments with three other doctors, but you turned my life around through hormonal and thyroid changes, along with a radically healthy diet and supplements.

I was always freezing in warm weather and felt like I had the flu all the time. So depressed, lifeless and tired.

It took discipline to do all you suggested, but I was desperate. My family began seeing a difference in me immediately and I’m so grateful I was willing to take charge and follow through.

May god continue to richly bless your endeavors in the medical field.


Cynthia T.

I would like to enthusiastically recommend Kent Holtorf, M.D. in Torrance, California. I have been to numerous doctors for treatment of my thyroid condition with the same response, “The lab tests show your thyroid is fine.”

Dr. Holtorf utilized a thorough questionnaire of my symptoms, listened to my story, asked a lot of questions, then did an exam. He is the nicest most pleasant Dr. I have ever seen. He discussed how my thyroid and other hormones function and why the TSH is not a good indicator of thyroid function. He said with a confident smile that I would start feeling better very soon. I couldn’t keep from crying. He put me on a T4/T3 combination, and he was right. I feel so much better and it has just been a few days. He said he will balance my other hormones and I will feel even better over the next couple of months. I can’t wait to go back. Incidentally, I went to Dr Holtorf at the recommendation of a friend who had a similar story of going to numerous doctors and specialists with severe fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue with little relief. Dr. Holtorf got her feeling significantly better in just a short time with hormone balancing, which included thyroid (T4 and T3), adrenal hormones, female hormones, and some others. I can’t express how grateful I am to Dr. Holtorf.


Theckla S.

In my late twenties I was diagnosed with Graves’s disease and was given radioactive Iodine to destroy my thyroid gland. For a number of years I was treated by symptoms and did fairly well. About 10 years ago I found myself struggling with my endocrinologist who continually decreased my Synthroid dosage. I begged for a higher dosage as I began to lose my hair, my energy, my physical endurance, my ability to think and my zest for life. I was told Synthroid was the only treatment and my TSH test results showed I was hyper! No one ever mentioned T3 alone or Armour. So stupidly I accepted this and tried to make the best of it. And then as I entered menopause, the doctors gave me hormones for relief but as I aged they began lowering the dosage to almost nothing and I felt awful. I begin to read about bio-identical hormones and tried to talk to my doctor about them but she was not interested in prescribing those for me. I began to do some research and knew that I would likely have to leave my conventional southern physicians to seek a more intelligent approach to medicine. After an exhaustive search and several doctor visits I sat in Dr Wayne Wightman's office. I knew from the beginning of our visit (and after I had filled out many pages of health information prior to the visit) that I had found someone who not only knew what they were doing but who also cared and would listen to me and acknowledge my understanding of my own body. Most of the doctors I see tell me what to do in no uncertain terms with no allowance for my involvement in my own healthcare. Dr Wightman listens and gives me his opinion but also respects my intuition of my own body.

Here is the bottom line. After years of hypothyroid symptoms caused by under-treatment and then unavailable treatment with bio-identical hormones, I have regained my life thanks to Dr Wightman. I feel great, look better, can think again, my hair has gotten thicker and I have body hair for the first time that I can remember. I don't go to bed freezing only to wake up sweating in the middle of the night. I sleep well and I deal with stress better. I am very happy and I thank Dr Wightman for his thoughtful treatment of my difficult condition.

Theckla S, Charlotte NC


Kim R.

I am a 44 year old single mom with two beautiful kids. I started coming to the Holtorf Medical group after feeling tired, depressed and the inability to lose weight. I tried everything to get my energy back and my weight down. With the treatments they provided for me, I quickly felt 100% better. I have energy, I’m not depressed and I have lost weight without even trying. Hormones can really affect your life! You owe it to yourself to investigate who you are feeling. This is easy. I will never stop coming here.


Karen R.

For close to a decade, I went from one doctor to another. About seven years ago, I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia and several other diseases. I tried acupuncture, chiropractic, massage, special diets, juicing, etc. Some worked for a while. I also tried two rheumatologists and an endocrinologist. The result: pain medication and antidepressants. That helped for a little while, but then when the dosages no longer worked and my doctor wanted to increase my dosages, I decided to try another alternative.

The first time I saw Dr. Wightman, I thought that there might be hope. At that time, my average pain level was a 9 (on a scale of 1 to 10). It had greatly affected my work, my family life, and my outlook. The hope I received the day of my appointment with Dr. Wightman was transformed day by day into a miracle a year later. There have been some days in which I am pain free. Other days average about a 3 or 4. Dr. Wightman gave me my life back.

I kept my primary physician informed. The first visit to my primary care physician after my appointment with Dr. Wightman was not pleasant; I left his office in tears because he did not like some of the strategies that had been planned. However, I was desperate and followed Dr. Wightman’s guidance. I am pleased to report that my primary care physician now supports Dr. Wightman’s guidance and is very pleased with my progress. He even stated that I’m not the same person that I was before Dr. Wightman. He’s remarked that I have a sparkle in my eyes and that my demeanor is much better.

Other people have remarked that I smile and laugh a lot more than prior to going to Dr. Wightman.

Thank you, Dr. Wightman, for giving me a life I never thought I would have again. You have touched so many lives — not only your patients, but also their friends, families, and co-workers. You worked a miracle with me, and I’m sure that there are many other miracles you helped to orchestrate!

God bless you,


Aida B.

Dr. Holtorf, You are amazing. Ever since I started hormone replacement therapy and the shots, I feel like a new woman. I went from feeling tired and having no energy to feeling energized and full o life. It is like a blanket of doom was lifted an I can see and feel like never before.

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

PS. Also thank you to your wonderful caring staff.


Andrew S.

I suffered form chronic fatigue for ten years. I visited numerous doctors and they were unable to help me. When I finally found Dr. Holtorf, he proved to be the first doctor who was truly able to help me. I am very grateful for the help he has given me.


Melisa M.

When I came to see Dr. Wrightman, I was fatigued, gaining weight, out of shape and depressed.   After a few months of being on the regimen prescribed by Dr. Wrightman, I feel and look 20 years younger.  My skin is less wrinkled; I have lost weight, my muscles are firmer, my hair is thicker and not as grey, I am energetic and amazingly, no longer depressed.

THANK YOU Dr. Wrightman!


Cynthia L.

Dear Dr. Holtorf and Staff, Each time I come for an appointment, I want to hug you all! Thanks you for giving me my life back. Your important work makes a profound impact!

Warmest Regards, Cynthia


Elsie P.

Dear Dr. Wightman:

Thank you so much for my return to health. Before I discovered your clinic I had gone to at least 4 doctors. The doctors had been recommended by friends and referrals through my primary care doctor and I was told they were "the best." It was very costly, depressing and I did not feel better, in fact got worse. I was diagnosed hypothyroid and possible adrenal fatigue. I was put on Synthroid, but all of my symptoms remained. I returned for follow-up visits and was told there was nothing wrong. I couldn't understand why I was feeling so rotten, if nothing was wrong. I was in desperate need to find out what was happening and just have a life. I had a difficult time. I was barely functioning.

Symptoms: Lack of concentration, focus, mental fogginess, loss of muscle strength, hyper pigmentation, skin staining, dryness, loss of body hair, eyelid puffiness, rash back of knees and neck, fatigue, body aches, stress, depression, and always felt cold, etc.

Needless to say, this consumed my life, just not able to do anymore than I absolutely had to do. Each day was a struggle. I was fortunate to find your clinic on the Internet, what a blessing. I was relieved to speak with you, have you take the time to listen to me and be able to explain what was going on with me. It was truly a huge relief to find someone that understood what I was going through. Validation at last, I am not crazy.

After a complete review of my blood work , I am now on T-3, for my thyroid, bio-identical hormones and vitamin supplements. What a huge difference in life. Since the first visit I was confident I would get better and I have. Your office is great combination of expert knowledge, kindness and compassion. I cannot fully express how grateful and blessed I am to have met you and staff. Keep up the great work.


Cheri D.

I am so extremely happy with Dr. Shah - her knowledge, her attitude and her expertise. She has a great understanding of hormonal and health issues and has helped me feel better in everyway. I am so satisfied to be coming to her.

I had been on bioidentical hormones with another doctor at another clinic for over two years and have been with Dr. Shah at Holtorf Medical for about five months and am just so happy to have moved. I am feeling better and better at every visit and could not be happier with the clinic and most especially with Dr. Shah.




Lauren C.

I just wanted to take the time to write and thank the Holtorf Medical Group and Dr. Wightman for everything they have done for me and shown me. Before I came to the Holtorf Medical Group I could not for the life of me figure out what was wrong with me. I was constantly tired, couldn't lose weight, and was getting very sick every 3 months. I had gone to different doctors asking them what could possibly be wrong with me, I figured it must be mono since it felt like I could never get enough sleep. I had also mentioned to one of the doctors how I was always getting shaky before meals. I had at least two blood test done by separate doctors, only to be told I didn't have mono and that my thyroid level fell in the "normal" category. Also one of the doctors told me that I was anemic, and that's why I was shaky before meals.

After my first visit to Dr. Wightman I had an in-depth blood test done, once the results came back in, it showed I did indeed have a low thyroid level, was hypoglycemic, and to my surprise wasn't anemic at all. I was so relieved to finally have a real diagnosis. I have since been on thyroid supplements for almost a year and have seen such a difference in my body. My energy level is so much higher then before; I haven't been sick once; even my hair, which never grows, grew about 3 or 4 inches; I've lost almost 20lbs, and over all feel 100% better then I did at this same time a year ago. After all my up hill battles with wrong diagnosis' and insensitive doctors, I am so glad I found the Holtorf Medical Group, and even more so for Dr. Wightman. You have never once treated me like just another patient, and are genuinely concerned about my health and well being. It's rare to find that in a medical office these days and am forever blessed to have found it here.


Randy J

I was a scholarship athlete, ran 4-miles a day 4 to 5 times per week for 30 yrs. Had run 3 successful businesses and was starting a new one. Then one morning I woke up and could barely move. I was so tired I could barely make it down the stairs. I was bedridden for about two months. This began a six year journey of 13 doctors. My symptoms were constant headaches, exhaustion, joint pain, no sleep literally two-three hrs per night with sleeping aids, panic attacks, constant anxiety, would explode at the drop of a hat, total body pain and burning, what seemed like inflamed skin, constant night sweats, bloating stomach, total constipation intestinal palsy if you will, eye pain, severe hearing sensitivity, total muscle atrophy and brain fog. I could go on but you get the picture. It was ruining my family I totally withdrew to my room for total isolation for 6 yrs when I wasn't working.
 
The 12th doctor diagnosed me with Lyme disease, tried some treatments but really didn't have an answer; he said it was beyond him. A typical syndrome of these types of illnesses is a obsessive/ compulsive desire to find out what is wrong. Every free moment I spent researching the web to find out what was wrong with me. My first doctor said I was depressed and just needed antidepressants. Between the first and 12th doctor I went through multiple treatments but all were shooting in the dark.
 
When the 12th doctor diagnosed me with Lyme and a toxoplamsa gondi infection, he gave me antibiotics and I began to have what is called a herxheimer reaction which created major symptom increase and crying attacks but he wasn't giving me the right antibiotics long enough.
 
Finally, I found Dr Holtorf on the web and made an appointment. I almost started crying during the appointment because he was the first doctor that had a specific protocol and actually new what he was doing. He actually cared about me. He has treated me for Lyme, Epstein Barr, CMV, and Chlamydia pneumonia. He also has treated me for thyroid, hormone and for body degeneration. I am feeling the best I've felt in 6 yrs. I know I still have a ways to go but all I can say is thank God for Dr Holtorf, he has been a miracle to me and my family.


Charla C.

I am 60 years old and have spent 20 years believing that my lack of energy, body pain and constant fatigue was a result of getting old. These beliefs were promoted by many doctors as I reported to them my symptoms. In 2005, I had developed a thyroid issue and began searching for a new doctor when I first met Dr. Holtorf. He is one of the rare doctors that actually listened to me and my list of symptoms and like a detective searched out my medical problems. He has taught me what my issues are and how to best treat them. . I have been put on a bio-identical hormone regime, and I am being treated for chronic fatigue and fibromyalgia. I now feel 90% better that I have in years and yet he is still hunting down the other 10%. His philosophy is that you should feel great and healthy until you die, not accepting aging as a reason for feeling terrible. I am absolutely thrilled to have found such a great doctor. I have recommended many friends and family to his clinic and they are as thankful as I am for the for the dedication and care they are receiving. He has several great doctors on staff, and his nurses and office staff are always kind and helpful. Now, I am recommending that you experience Dr. Holtorf’s medical care for yourself.


Jackie T

I just wanted to say how much better I am feeling these days. I am down to 125 lbs now. Do you recall me complaining and sad in your office about not loosing weight yet working out 6 days a week and eating nothing. I have dropped 10 miraculous lbs !!! remember the dress I told you I could not zip up for a Bat-Mitzvah? Guess what?.............Not only do I zip it up, but it practically falls down on me now!! All I can say is my thyroid must be on its way to some sort of recovery.

I really appreciate you as a holistic physician. Coming from a family of all radiologists and doctors who have always gone along with "the pharmaceutical conspiracy" ( that I do not buy into), it is a relief to know that people can be cured holistically

Now I can work a full 8 hour day, I no longer work part time, and can afford to move out of my moms house and live on my own (with my cat too). I have accepted a new as a business liaison and sales rep. I will continue to keep you updated on my health and progress. I thank you so very much for all you have done, and I wish you and your family a very warm and healthy and happy holiday season.


Lynda P.

I would like to tell of my extremely positive experience with Dr. Holtorf. I was diagnosed with hypothyroid about 6 years ago. To make a long story short, I was originally placed on Synthroid and did not feel much better (still very fatigued, and poor memory). I have seen just about every doctor that is noted as a thyroid expert in the greater Los Angeles area, including numerous endocrinologists, internists, family practitioners, and alternative practitioners. I have been on Synthroid, Levoxyl, Armor Thyroid, Tyrolar, Cytomel (alone and with Synthroid), all with wide ranging doses (high to low). I would start to feel better on high doses but would then get anxious. It was never right. A friend of a friend who Dr. Holtorf really helped with her thyroid referred me to him. He stated that this situation is usually due to high reverse T3. He did an extensive thyroid panel when I was on 3 grains of Armour thyroid. My T3 was mid normal, TSH low, and reverse T3 extremely high. He said a timed release T3 would remedy this problem. I was worried because I felt horrible on Cytomel and did not expect that this would work. He then placed me on a timed release T3 and slowly increased it over 4 weeks. I finally feel normal (its been 3 months now), and I can go through my life without the fatigue, poor thinking or anxiety. He has my highest recommendation.


Scott G.

Dr Holtorf saved me from a life of misery. I was told by my doctor that I had hyperthyroidism based on a low TSH and was sent to an endocrinologist. He told me that I have subclinical hyperthyroidism with a low TSH and normal T4. He mentioned radioactive treatment to correct the condition for good. This made no sense to me because I had so many symptoms (I think just about all of them) of low thyroid. I went to Dr. Holtorf for another opinion. He showed me that I actually had low thyroid levels due to a pituitary and T4 to T3 conversion problem. My T3 levels were on the very low end of normal with a low TSH and normal T4. He then told me this is sometimes due to a chronic virus. He put me on T3, and I immediately felt SO MUCH better. He then tested me for a number of viruses, and I was shown to have active Epstein Bar (EBV). He then treated me for this and my TSH actually increased after being on thyroid and anti-viral medication then before treatment. My doctor could not believe it and called him to discuss it. He was impressed as well. If you have a complex problem, I would go see DR. Holtorf.


Lisa L.

I cannot thank Dr. Holtorf and his staff enough for dramatically improving my quality of life and health. Having endured over seven years with fibromyalgia, chronic fatige syndrome and neurotoxin exposure, it had taken such tool on my body that I to the point that I could not stand for more than 15 minutes without becoming completely exhausted. I had to use a walker and spent most of my days in bed. I had been to so many doctors. Most do not know anything about chronic fatigue syndrome, fibromyalgia and neurotoxins and when I traveled to see specialist and experts in these conditions, still no treatments helped. I finally found Dr. Holtorf, what a difference. Thank God that I searching for a doctor that knew more about chronic fatigue syndrome and fibromyalgia than I did. He treats every patient differently and tailors the treatment to the individual. I had been though the one size fits all treatments by other doctors without any improvement. I noticed significant improvement after the first visit when other doctors were treatment me for years without improvement. I could not believe it. In an amazingly short period of time, I no longer needed my walker, my energy was dramatically increased, my pain was significantly improved and I was actually getting restful sleep. My friends cannot believe how different I am (and look). I hope my letter will help some sufferers of chronic fatigue syndrome and fibromyalgia that there is hope and help is on the way from Dr. Holtorf and his wonderful understanding and caring staff that are dedicated to returning the lives of those of use that have been diagnosed with CFS/FMS ect or what I call “Fibro-my-what”, which is what most people say after I tell them that I have been diagnosed with fibromyalgia. I wish you happy healing.


Myrna M.

”Dr. Holtorf was able to improve my thyroid condition even though I had already been treated for this condition for 20+ years. Dr. Holtorf was able to treat my under treated thyroid problem and I have never felt better. He is familiar with how my hormones interact with one another and was able to tell more about me medically than anyone else has. If I experience a problem that he is not familiar with, he actually conducts research and gets back to me with alternate ways to treat me. This man is a blessing, and I highly recommend him to anyone in the area or willing to fly to see him. I did - I live on the east coast but I flew in just to see him based upon other recommendations - it was totally worth it. I am now feeling like I haven't felt since before my pregnancies in the 1970's!”


Betsy G.

Dear Holtorf Medical Group,

I became a patient of Nurse Practitioner, Dee Dee White in May, 2006 and my life has drastically improved because of your services. I had gained weight, had no energy and couldn’t figure out what was wrong with me. Thankfully, the Internet provided access to the Holtorf Medical Group’s website and I realized that I had the symptoms of a thyroid and other hormonal deficiencies. My GP and endocrinologist told me my thyroid was fine, since they only tested part of my thyroid….the TSH and T4 portion.

Most doctors only test for T4 and TSH, but that is only half of the thyroid equation. They need to test for T3 and Reverse T3 in order to measure how the fat reducing hormones travel throughout your system. My TSH and T4 levels were adequate when I walked into the Holtorf Medical Center’s office, but I quickly learned that I was woefully deficient in T3 and too high in Reverse T3. I was the classic case of “being shuffled through the medical system without anyone caring to dig deeper into my issues.

” Dee Dee White had a thyroid problem and was cured by Dr. Holtorf and then decided to work for him. She understood exactly what I was going through and was compassionate and caring. She dug into all aspects of my life in order to obtain a complete picture of my overall wellness and took the time to listen to my issues. I highly recommend working with Dee Dee White and the rest of the staff at Holtorf Medical Group. They are friendly, professional and efficient.

Kind regards,


Brandee S.

I just wanted to share the good news from my appointments with Dr. Holtorf.

First of all, I have lost 20 pounds since February! And I am not doing anything different...except taking T3 thyroid, other NATURAL hormones, and my other supplements.
My "bad" cholesterol, which was ridiculously high, is now normal. Insulin is now normal. Iron is now normal. Virtually EVERYTHING is now where it should be!
I am so happy! I feel soooo much better, and I look better, too! I've gone from hearing comments like, "You look tired," and "Your face looks puffy," to "You look great. Did you get work done?" LOVE IT!

I am not feeling fatigued like I was, and I don't have leg cramps, muscle pain or even my migraines anymore! So, THERE IS HOPE!!! I just had to share that with you, and with anyone else who is going through this. Like you say, "Find your Dr. Right!" And it WILL work. You WILL get better!


Alice D.

Hello and Happy New Year, I am a VERY happy patient. You have helped me more than I can express. I truly feel like a new person since visiting your office and changing medications. Having a doctor that actually listens to what I am saying and is willing to try different things for individuals is truly a rare find. I am so grateful that I found the Holtorf Medical Group and cannot imagine where I would be right now without scouring the internet for help!

THANK YOU SO MUCH! I’m a bit of a work in progress but I feel 90% better than I did when I walked through the doors of your offices. My personal experience has made me want to spread the word to others who have been having problems similar to mine.


Melina S.

For some time I've wanted to write a letter about my recovery. I wanted to wait until the quality of my life was substantially better, to show all the new patients the extent in which they can expect their health to improve. My story is this: I have been very ill since 1990. Some of my symptoms included: seizures, gastrointestinal pain, constipation, diarrhea, nausea, headaches, muscle weakness, unexplained weight gain, paralysis of limbs and entire body for days at a time, and severe heart pain. Due to a diagnosis of severe endometriosis, I had a hysterectomy at age 21. I had four or five other surgeries which brought no comfort, only more complications. I went to every Dr, every healer, every alternative medicine clinic; both here and in other countries with no relief in sight.

Because the physicians could find no consistent diagnosis, my insurance sent me to a pain management center. There I was given lots of pain killers and tried hundreds of new drugs. At one point, I was taking twenty seven pills a day. Not wanting to become addicted, I took much less than had been prescribed. Without the prescriptions from the pain management center, I wouldn't have been able to get out of bed, due to the pain. So, there is a place for such prescriptions, especially in cases where the patient is chronically ill. But I wanted to get better, I wanted to heal the source of the illness! I didn't want to merely survive on Methadone, Stadol, and Demerol the rest of my life.

In February 2006, my husband suggested I look at the Holtorf Medical Group website. I read every word, hoping they could help a lost cause like myself. I didn't have much hope, but my husband made me go. My appointment was with Dr. Wightman, a soft-spoken man who put me at ease right away. I told him about my history and how matters were only getting worse. I had gained over 50 pounds for no reason, and as an actress that is the death of one's career. I embarrassingly showed him my medical records, a stack that was four inches thick. I told him how I had just seen an standard endocrinologist and that the tests came back negative for hypothyroidism. This seemed strange as not only did I show all the symptoms of hypothyroidism, but the disease ran in my family! I was at my wits end and to make it worse, my hair was now falling out. My thick, trademark mane had now been reduced to thin wispy strands with bald spots that showed when I wore a ponytail.

Dr. Wightman ordered loads of tests…But, to be healthy again I would do anything. The tests came back showing many deficiencies and hormonal imbalances. They also showed adrenal dysfunction and fibromyalgia. I might be missing a few diagnosis, but the point is, finally I got to see on paper what could be the reason for my ill health. Doctor Wightman prescribed me hormones, a series of shots, which I have to say I dreaded but were not as painful as they looked.

Slowly but surely, my symptoms started to disappear. First, surprisingly was my heart pain. It subsided at least 50% and now a year, later is gone. Thanks to the "meat, vegetables, and some fruit diet", my stomach pain is 90% gone. My seizures even went away…each month my health improved noticeably. In May I started losing weight, lots of weight! From April 2006 to December 2006, I lost 50 pounds. I am feeling so much better.

The visits were expensive for us. But I wanted to do more than barely function. I wanted to experience life as a healthy person. Nothing is more important than your health. If you don't have good health, every aspect of your life suffers. I know, I was very ill for 17 years. Thanks to Dr. Wightman and the staff at the Holtorf Medical Group, I believe it is possible for me to be totally healthy. I see it coming on the horizon and I am so thankful.

Dr. Wightman,
I hope you know how much your help has meant to me.
Best Wishes,

Melina S.


Bruce A.

Thank you.  I'm steadily improving and feeling more myself these days.  Over the years I have had many doctors and dealt with many physicians who treated my wife and children as well as dealing with experts in my law practice, and I can unequivocally say that you are the best doctor I have ever known.  You are making a real impact on my life.  Thank you again.


Teri C.

I was really impressed by Dr. Tenenbaum's ability to listen and really understand my symptoms. While I didn’t see immediate results, I started feeling remarkably better within months. The minimal investment of time and money was truly worth the piece of mind. I was shocked to learn that the very medicine I had been taking for years was actually working against me. I’m so glad I sought a second opinion in the Hormone and Longevity Medical Center.


Darryl W.

I started seeing Dr. Holtorf and Dr. Wightman almost one year ago, and the progress I have made since then has been remarkable.

I had been extremely active and healthy my entire life. Prior coming down with a classic case of CFS in December 2005, I was working hard, traveling for work, and an active father of two young children. I was even training hard for marathon (perhaps the straw that broke the camel’s back). I became ill literally overnight, with insomnia, extreme fatigue, muscle and joint pain, and digestive problems. I quickly ran through my local GP and several specialists, and even went to the Mayo Clinic. Fortunately, I suspected that CFS was the culprit and I found the Holtorf Medical Group.

I was then officially diagnosed with CFS, with positive viral labs, various hormone irregularities, and coagulation issues. I started immediately on Dr. Holtorf’s multi-faceted treatment and saw immediate results. My energy and sleep issues improved significantly within two months. Thereafter, I continued to steadily progress throughout the following year.

One year later, while I am not yet at 100%, and am well on my way. I am working full time, playing with the kids, and even exercising a little. I just got back from a ski vacation where I skied 3 days straight. Not only did I not set myself back, but I felt good enough to really enjoy it.

I cannot say enough about Dr. Holtorf, his partners and his staff. Dr. Holtorf worked very hard with me to get results. While the protocol takes real dedication on the part of the patient and doctor, the results are well worth it…I am getting my life back.


Shaun H.

Dear Dr Wightman:

Since coming to Holtorf Medical under your care I have experienced life changing improvements in my health.

The most significant of which are:

1. Increase in energy and stamina
2. Increase in Sexual interest and arousal
3. Noticeable muscle mass improvement.
4. Reduced "jet lag" from International travel
5. Elimination of "sugar cravings"

I am now remembering what it is like to feel "normal and healthy" again from a condition of being sick and tired of being sick and tired. As we are continuing to move through treatments most of my days are "9's" with that occasional 10's and even and "11'"!

I was for years only a "shadow version" of my previously happy and energetic self. I would say that the results from the treatment I have been receiving under your expertise has been less "practice" of medicine and more "proof " of the perfection of health!

Thank you again.


Katee S.

For about five years of my life I was exhausted, and everyone blamed it on my erratic sleep patterns due to my business. My father was the only one who said to me, "You're in your early 20's, and shouldn't be this tired." My search for the right doctor was insane. I must have gone to at least eight different doctors before finding Dr. Holtorf. Dr. Holtorf and the entire staff worked very hard to fit me in with my crazy schedule and after my first visit I told a close friend that I immediately had more energy. After a month my energy level was amazing being diagnosed with a thyroid condition. Not only do I continue to see Dr. Holtorf when I'm in town, but I have recommended many friends and family to him.

Dr. Holtorf has truly changed my life.


Lenore H.

When I first saw Dr. Holtorf I had just been diagnosed with Hashimoto’s disease. I’d been put on a thyroid supplement that was wrecking havoc with my body and my sanity, despite my then doctor’s protestations that I should feel just fine. I didn’t and Dr. Holtorf was quickly able to see why I wasn’t, got me on the appropriate medications, and in short gave me my life back. Dr. Holtorf really listened to me, how often does that happen? He knew it wasn’t “all in my head,” and got me back to feeling like a very healthy and happy woman.


Rhonda W.

I have been going to Dr. Holtorf’s office for a little over a year and a half. When I first came, I was no longer able to work, just getting up to take my son to school completely wiped me out. I was in a great amount of pain and could no longer function normally. I had gone to a few different doctors who either gave me some pills for inflammation or would run a bunch of tests then tell me nothing was wrong. I was 27 years old and had always been physically active. I did not believe nothing was wrong. I found Dr. Holtorf online and after doing extensive blood work that found causes for my fatigue, I received medications, hormone optimization and IV therapy. I noticed a change right away and so did my family. It has taken awhile to slowly build my body back up, but this year I have able to do so much more with my family. I even ran a 5-K with my son!! For the moment, I still need to watch my energy level, but I am looking at my life and this next year with even more hope for the future.


Naomi C.

I am so happy and relieved to have found the Fibromyalgia and Fatigue Center. I have been battling CFIDS for 10 months and have been seriously debilitated for 10 months. I was almost truly ready to give up all hope. I am only 32 years old and most of the time I felt like I was half-dead. I’ve thoroughly researched CFIDS and all its possible causes and treatments since many regular MD’s had no clue what was wrong with me. They don’t really understand CFIDS and just prescribe medications to mask the symptoms. I am so happy to find a doctor who thoroughly understands CFIDS and truly understands the root causes of this disease. I am now on the road to recovery.


Michael D.

Dr. Tenenbaum is a very gifted doctor that I totally trust.  I always feel like I’m on the path to feeling better and better.  He’s extremely knowledgeable about so many aspects of medicine and I think he’s a great person too.


Robin P. 

Excellent doctor. I had been to numerous CFIDS/FM "experts" with no relief whatsoever, but after 3 visits with Dr. Holtorf, I have had significant improvement with the multi-system approach. I feel I have turned the corner. 


Tawni K.

My experience at the Hormone & Longevity Center has been very pleasant.  Dr. Wightman has been excellent in listening about my health problems and in prescribing the right treatments.  I feel so much better since coming here and am thankful to have found the Hormone & Longevity Center.


Melissa W.

I am very happy with the ongoing results of my treatment with Hormone & Longevity Center. I went to three doctors before I was finally treated for my condition with good results here. The other doctors could not treat my illness. The staff here is extremely efficient and friendly. Finally I’m getting my life back. I feel much better and am hopeful about the future. It is sad to say that it is rare to find a doctor who understands and knows how to treat thyroid conditions, hormone imbalances and immune deficiency conditions.


Kristin H.

I was experiencing debilitating migraines.  I had seen several medical specialists with the condition progressively getting worse.  Since seeing Dr. Holtorf my migraines are controllable.  I feel better than I have in years; I appreciate his knowledge of hormonal balance and slowing of the aging process.  I am very happy with his treatment of my concerns and the progress I’ve experienced.


Malena A

Dear Dr. Wightman, Because of you and your staff, I am back to work. I can’t tell you how precious you are to me. Thank you for helping to restore my health and not mention the 40 pounds and counting. Love and Peace to all of you.


Marianne C.

Dr. Holtorf always has the latest information on scientific studies.  I trust that his recommendations and have seen a significant improvement in my overall health since coming to his practice.


Candace P.

I have been a patient of Dr. Wightman for about two years now and have always been impressed with his kindness.  I feel well taken care of both physically and emotionally.  When I first came to the Hormone and Longevity Center I was at my wit's end having suffered from heat flashes, disturbed sleep patterns, weight gain, mental fogginess and low energy for the past 14 years.  I had tried many other treatments from acupuncture and homeopathic remedies to western medical doctors but nothing had helped relieve my symptoms.  On my very first visit to the HALC I received help from Dr. Wightman who gave me a Vitamin B shot, herbs to help me sleep and improve my energy and found the right regime of bioidentical hormones to suit me.  After taking the hormones for only a few days I was amazed to have such quick results with nearly all my symptoms.  Soon I didn't need the Vitamin B shots or the herbs as the hormones took care of the problems.  Dr. Wightman also discovered that I had a thyroid problem which was previously unknown to me and had gone undiagnosed by the many western doctors that had treated me.  It has taken almost 2 years to find the exact right thyroid dose and medication for my particular problem but Dr. Wightman proceeded with patience and care and during that time there was steady improvement.  Finally, I am back to my ideal weight and energy.  I am thrilled to feel so well and I highly recommend Dr. Wightman and the HALC.


pk_small.jpgP.K.

Dear Dr. Kent,

It's working!!! No more days in bed for me. You're wonderfull!! Thank you so very much.


Kathryn S.

sunico_small.jpgDear Dr. Holtorf,

My adrenal glands seem to be working just fine now. Thank you so much for all your hard work and dedication!

 


Winifred A.

With just my first IV, the break out on my leg nearly went away.  The rashes on my legs ceased.  I felt a burning sensation in my lungs and gut, but felt so much better than I had before!  The overall care and combination of allopathic and holistic/Nutritional made a life changing difference.  Thank God for this clinic and Dr. Wightman, who listens and cares.

I feel alive again!


Susan Y.

I must comment on the vast appreciation I feel for the warm welcome provided me by all the personnel in your office on my initial visit last month. Not since my childhood have I felt so valued in a medical office, and it bears repeating-visiting you office is one of the most pleasant experiences I have ever had in my pursuit of excellent health.


Teresa T.

Thanks to Dr. Holtorf I am finally better after many years spent seeking treatment for a variety of problems. Dr. Holtorf has designed a process that is effective and works for even the toughest patients. I.e. Me!


Wendy P.

Dear Dr. Holtorf, I saw numerous doctors and have placed on various thyroid preparations and never felt good. Now after seeing you and being on a custom formulation of T4 and T3 based on my T3/reverse T3 ratio, I am feeling fantastic and have lost 30 pounds without dieting. I cannot begin to thank you enough.


Charmian P.

I am writing to express my sincerest gratitude to you and your team at the Hormone and Longevity Medical Centre. 
 
Until I consulted you, my efforts in seeking a diagnosis and treatment for my ongoing fatigue and ill health, from both conventional medical and alternate health practitioners, had proved fruitless. 
 
Although thyroid problems have been prevalent in my family I had constantly been told that I was "in the low normal range" when tested. Your diagnosis proved otherwise and your treatment has resulted in my fatigue being replaced by wonderful energy - I can actually run now!  I must have once had energy like this but it is so long ago I can't recall it. 
 
Further, my hot flashes, night sweats, 'cotton wool head' etc have virtually disappeared.
 
I am so grateful to you for giving me the gift of good health - all you have done is very much appreciated!


Nancy S.

In 1992, I began having symptoms of overwhelming fatigue, dizziness, muscle stiffness, widespread body pain, mental confusion, flu like feeling, etc., etc. Naturally, I went to the doctor, and then to many doctors, all of whom said they couldn't find anything wrong with me. Additionally, I started gaining weight, despite what I ate!

I was diagnosed with Chronic Fatigue/Immune Dysfunction Syndrome (CFIDS). I was given several medications and supplements, which did help initially. In 1995 I was unfortunately also diagnosed with Fibromyalgia (FMS) and started treatments for this condition. None of the medications, or treatments were helping; I tried to continue working in my position as an Administrative Vice President, but the ongoing stress associated with my job, as well as other factors, continued to make my condition worsen. In March 1995, my body decided it didn't want to endure anymore of the constant battering I was putting it through, and I had a complete breakdown, becoming bed-ridden and unable to work.

I was frantic! I started searching the Internet, reading article after article about the doctors who were trying to make a difference in treating CFIDS/FMS. Finally I found an article about The Holtorf Medical Group, Inc. I searched for them on the Web and found that their office was in Torrance. I immediately made an appointment, and started seeing Dr. Wightman. By that time, my weight had escalated to 380-ish pounds.

After considerable blood testing, the results were in the hands of the doctor who was going to help me. I felt confident of this after the first appointment, as Dr. Wightman was familiar with all my symptoms and how sensitive my body was when faced with even the smallest change. He immediately recognized that my thyroid was very low, possibly contributing to my weight problem, and he set out a treatment plan for me to go forward.

It's been 8 months since that first visit. I've lost over 100 pounds, currently weighing in at 270 pounds. Overall, that alone is a true accomplishment, and although I still have to get bed-rest after a very active day, my cognitive skills have improved, and when I do participate in an active day, it doesn't take me as long to get myself out of bed. My family and friends say they have noticed considerable improvement since I've started this treatment process, and we are all very happy about the weight loss, which is very encouraging.

I have complete confidence that Dr. Wightman will continue to help me, and that one day I'll be back to 100%. I highly recommend the excellent doctors and staff at the Holtorf Medical Group for anyone who is suffering from my medical condition, and a hormone imbalance, plus all the other debilitating conditions listed within this web-site. Thank you Dr. Wightman for all your understanding, and excellent guidance in treating my particular medical condition.



Visitors

Safe & Natural Pharmaceutical Hormones


Hormone Doctor  |  Thyroid Doctors  |  Thyroid Treatments  |  Bioidentical Estrogen and Progesterone  |  Treatment with Human Growth Hormone  |  Treatment of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and Fibromyalgia  |  Testoterone Treatments  |  Lyme Disease  |  Leptin / Weight Loss  |  Doctors' Knowledge  |  Patient Testimonials  |  Printable Handouts  |  Request for Information  |  Map/Directions